Group Directory


Definition

The Group Directory lists all technician teams from the IT Department specialized in a specific type of operations when handling incidents and requests. The employee assignment to one or several groups gives him or her the technician status.

EndDefinition
  • You define the functions of each group using roles.
  • The level assigned to each group is used to manage escalations and redirections when transferring an action in an incident/request.
  • Certain IT Department operations can be delegated to external service providers and subcontractors. These are also defined in groups whose members are associated with suppliers.

Examples

  • Software maintenance group: Set of users in charge of incidents related to software problems.
  • Delegated to a subcontractor: Onsite resolution of problems related to workstations.
  • Video technician role: Assigned to Support persons in the Maintenance group who handle screen-related incidents.

Notes

Caution

  • When you delete a group, the action is final. If you want to keep the group without making it available in Product name - ev itsm.png, you can archive it by entering the end date of the group. You can then view it using the Archived filter.

Best Practice big icon.pngBest practice

  • If you need to associate a significant number of Support persons with a group, you should use the Assign to a Group wizard available in List mode in the Employee Directory.
  • If a Support person belongs to several groups, you should define a default group. This concept is used by certain wizards, e.g. wizards for closing or reopening an incident. Open url.png See the procedure (step 7).

Characteristics specific to versions 2016 and earlier

The Group Directory form in versions 2016 and earlier is different:

Menu access

References > Directory > Group

Screens description

         Group directory.png

TabUpdateRules_After2016Versions

Open url.png See the general principles for updating tabs.

Create a new item Delete an item or association with a related item

Run the New wizard at the top of the tab

Fundamentals - Form - New wizard.png

Move the cursor over the corresponding item and click Trash icon.png

Fundamentals - Form - Delete wizard.png

Alphabetical order
Failed to execute the [include] macro

Details

Group Name: Name of the group.

Group Manager: Name of the manager preceded by a thumbnail of the photo.

Best Practice icon.png Even though you may define a user as the manager of a group, this user will not be authorized to perform actions for the incidents/requests assigned to the group. To enable the user to do so, you must first define the user as a member of the group.

Group Level (99 max.): Number indicating the level of the group within the Support hierarchy of the IT Department. It is used to manage escalations and redirections when transferring an action in an incident/request.

  • Level 1 indicates Support level 1, generally used for the Service Desk group. Expert groups are assigned higher levels.
  • All members in the group will inherit this level. 
  • When group members want to transfer an action in an incident/request:
    • They can redirect the action to another member of their group, or to another group or group member belonging to the same level or to a lower level. Note: You can prohibit transfers between groups in the Groups: Transfers Nnot Authorized tab.
    • They can escalate the action to another group or group member belonging to a higher level.

Supplier: If there is a value in this field, this indicates that the group is a non-company group managed by an external service provider or subcontractor.

Phone, Email: Information for contacting the group.

Email Alert: Used to indicate if an email should be sent to the group when an action in an incident/request is assigned (box is checked) or not (box is not checked).

  • If the group email address is not specified, the email will be sent individually to each member in the group.

Best Practice icon.png To avoid overloading the group's inbox, you should select this option only if the group rarely logs in to Product name - ev itsm.png.
Example documentation icon EN.png

  • Select this option for expert groups.
  • Do not select this option for the Service Desk or for technicians who check the actions to be performed on a regular basis.

Language: Language in which messages are sent to the group, via workflow steps.

Best Practice icon.png Do not specify the group's email address if its members do not use a common language. In this way, group members will receive the email in their own language.

Address, Zip Code, City, Country: Postal address of the group.

State: Geographical state of the country where the group is located.

Default OLA: OLA that specifies the target resolution time for the group.

  • This information is used when transferring an action in an incident/request outside the workflow, i.e. escalation or redirection to the group.
  • If an external service provider or subcontractor is involved, the agreement is known as a UC or Underpinning Contract.

Start Date/End Date: Group's activity period.

  • Note: At the end of the period, the group will automatically be archived. Users will no longer be able to transfer actions to it.

Discussion enabled: Used to define if the group can use the discussions functionality (box is checked) or not (box is not checked).

  • Group members will inherit the right to use discussions if this option is enabled.

Chat Enabled: Used to define if the group can use the chat functionality (box is checked) or not (box is not checked).

  • Note: The chat functionality is available only in SaaS version.
  • Group members will inherit the right to use chats if this option is enabled.

Note: Comments related to the group.

List of tabs

Group Members

List of technicians in the group who are able to intervene when an incident/request is transferred to the group.

Group Roles

List of roles associated with the group.

CI Roles

List of roles associated with the group for configuration items (CI).

Problems

List of problems to be managed and updated by the group.

  • Update: In Problem forms.

Known Errors

List of known errors to be managed and updated by the group.

  • Update: In Known Error forms.

Groups: Transfers Not Authorized

List of groups to which the current group is not authorized to transfer an incident/request.

  • Escalations and redirections is using the level assigned to the group.

History of Changes

Failed to execute the [include] macro

Knowledge Prerequisites

List of prerequisites associated with the group, used to restrict access to knowledge base entries when a full text search is run. Open url.png See the example.

  • Group members automatically inherit the prerequisites assigned to their group.
  • Group members can view all knowledge base entries without prerequisites.

Discussions

Failed to execute the [include] macro

Procedure and Wizards

How to create a group

Step 1: Creating the group

1. Select References > Directory > Group in the menu.

2. Click + New.

3. Complete the information required.

4. Click Save.

Step 2: Entering members of the group

1. Click + New in the Group Members tab.

2. Select the employee belonging to the group.

3. Repeat this procedure for each group member.

Step 3 (optional): Managing transfers of incidents/requests to other groups

1. Click + New in the Groups: Transfers Not Authorized tab.

2. Select the group to which you do not want to authorize the transfer of an incident/request.

3. Repeat this procedure for each group to which the transfer is prohibit.

Step 4 (optional): Restricting access to to knowledge base via des prerequisites

1. Click + New in the Knowledge Prerequisites tab.

2. Select the prerequisite attributed to the group.

3. Repeat this procedure for each prerequisite.


Step 5 (optional): Managing the default group

Note: If a member belongs to several groups, you should define the default group which will be used by certain wizards, e.g. wizards for closing or reopening an incident.

1. Go to the employee directory.

2. Open the form of the group member.

3. Launch the Manage Groups wizard.

4. Check the Default box for the relevant group.

5. Click Finish.

Wizards

Delete (Note: Only if it is not used). Used to permanently delete the Group form.

Tags:
Last modified by Unknown User on 2019/05/21 21:23
Created by Administrator XWiki on 2017/06/26 15:31

Shortcuts

Recent changes
•  Service Manager
•  Service Apps
•  Self Help

Glossary

Powered by XWiki ©, EasyVista 2020