Shortcuts to the Apps


When a new version of the app is released, you must send users a link to access it. You can do this in two ways.

Send the URL of the app Best Practice icon.png   Send a shortcut
Disadvantages:

  • The link will point directly to the app.
  • You must resend the URL each time the app version is changed.
Advantages:

  • The link will redirect users in a transparent way to the latest production version.
  • Users can then add the shortcut to their favorites and run the latest production version of the app at any time, without having to make any modifications.
  • The shortcut can point to two different layouts of the app, one in standard mode and the other in Mobile mode. It can also point to a specific page in the app.

Example

Implementation
Shortcut Example.png First deployment of the client portal
  • Create a shortcut pointing to version v1 of the portal (1).
  • Define access rights for the shortcut.
  • Send the shortcut to users.
==> Users can add the shortcut to their favorites and access version v1 of the portal automatically.
Creation of version v2
  • Duplicate version v1 and name the duplicated version v2 to ensure that software development does not disrupt the current production version.
  • Make the required modifications in the new version v2.
  • You can release the new version v2. Version v1 will now become obsolete.
  • Modify and point the shortcut to the new version v2 (2).
==> The modification made to the shortcut is transparent to users. When users click the shortcut in their favorites, version v2 of the portal will automatically open. You do not need to send them a new link to access it.
Creation of version v3
  • Duplicate version v2 and name the duplicated version v3.
  • Make the required modifications in the new version v3.
  • You can release the new version v3. Version v2 will now become obsolete.
  • Modify and point the shortcut to the new version v3 (3).
==> The modification made to the shortcut is transparent to users. When users click the shortcut in their favorites, version v3 of the portal will automatically open. You do not need to send them a new link to access it.

Notes

  • Only users whose profile is App Center Manager can create shortcuts.
  • Users authorized to edit a shortcut can modify it.
  • By default, the access rights of a new shortcut are defined in the app to which the shortcut points.
  • When you edit an app to which a shortcut points, a warning message will appear.
  • If the app has exposed properties, these are automatically sent with the shortcut. When you run the shortcut, only the records corresponding to the values of the properties will appear.

Screen description

         Shortcut.png

Access: Apps - Gallery - Create Shortcut icon.png In the gallery toolbar

Shortcut title: Name of the shortcut displayed in the App Gallery.

Short URL (optional): Simplified name for the app in the launch URL.

  • Authorized characters are as follows: upper/lower case letters, numbers, underscore and dash.
  • There must be no spaces.

    example  Shortcut named MyApp ==> Launch URL = https://<server>/MyApp

Description: Short description of the shortcut displayed in the App Gallery.

  • By default, it is the description of the app.

Application: Name of the app or version to which the shortcut points.

Page: Page of the app to which the shortcut points.

Mobile version (optional): Name of the app or version specifically for mobile display.

Mobile Page: Page of the app specifically for mobile display, to which the shortcut points.

Execution context: Name of the execution context to which the shortcut points. This indicates the database to be used by the app.

  • By default, this is the execution context of the app.
     

Note: The properties below are inherited from the app and can be overwritten in the shortcut.

OptionsShow

  • Show Main Toolbar: In execute mode, this indicates if the app title bar should be displayed (box is checked) or not (box is not checked).
  • Show App List (Note: Only when the Show Main Toolbar property is enabled): In execute mode, this indicates whether the EVApps - Execution - List Applications icon.png icon (list of apps that users can access) is displayed (box is checked) or not (box is not checked).
Properties Display in execute mode
  • Show Main Toolbar: Box is checked
  • Show App List: Box is checked
Properties title bar - Show all.png
  • Show Main Toolbar: Box is checked
  • Show App List: Box is not checked
Properties title bar - Show main toolbar On - Show app list Off.png
  • Show Main Toolbar: Box is not checked
  • Show App List: Box is checked or box is not checked
Properties title bar - Show nothing.png

Share application URL: QR code and link to the shortcut. You can copy and paste this and send it to users.

Procedure: How to perform app versioning using shortcuts

Step 1: Create a shortcut to the release version.

1. Click Apps - Gallery - Create Shortcut icon.png Create Shortcut in the App Gallery toolbar.

2. Specify the information on the shortcut.

  • Select the app to which the shortcut will point.
  • Select the execution context corresponding to the production step in your deployment process. Open url.png See the example in deployment process steps.

3. Click OK.

4. (optional) Modify the access rights for the shortcut.
Note: By default, access rights are identical to those of the app to which it points.

Step 2: Send the shortcut to users.

1. Click Apps - Gallery - Edit application icon.png in the shortcut toolbar.

2. Copy the QR code or link displayed in Share application URL.

3. Send the link to the relevant users.

Step 3: Create a new version of the app.

1. Duplicate the latest version of the app by clicking Apps - Duplicate icon.png in the app toolbar.

2. Rename the duplicated version.

3. Make the required modifications in the new version.

Step 4: Modify the shortcut.

1. Click Apps - Gallery - Edit application icon.png in the shortcut toolbar.

2. Select the new version in the Application field.

3. Click OK.

  • The contents of the shortcut will automatically be modified.
  • Its link, however, will remain identical for authorized users. You do not need to send them the new link.
Tags:
Last modified by Unknown User on 2020/10/23 11:25
Created by Administrator XWiki on 2019/04/01 20:05

Shortcuts

Powered by XWiki ©, EasyVista 2020